Girl Talk

Rap / Hip-Hop

Follow Girl Talk!

Follow Girl Talk to get alerts about upcoming events and special deals!

Girl Talk is currently on tour!

Upcoming Events with Girl Talk

Fri Apr 30 · 7 pm
Guest List Tickets Tables
Sat May 1 · 6:30 pm
Guest List Tickets Tables
Sat May 8 · 8 pm
Guest List Tickets Tables
Mon May 10 · 9 pm
Guest List Tickets Tables
Tue May 11 · 7 pm
Guest List Tickets Tables
Thu May 13 · 8 pm
Guest List Tickets Tables
Fri May 14 · 8 pm
Guest List Tickets Tables
Tue May 18 · 7 pm
Guest List Tickets Tables
Sat May 22 · 7 pm
Guest List Tickets Tables
Tue May 25 · 7 pm
Guest List Tickets Tables

About

Girl Talk is the stage name of musician Gregg Gillis (born October 26, 1981). Gillis, who lives in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, has released four LPs on Illegal Art and EPs on 333 and 12 Apostles. He began making music while studying biomedical engineering at Case Western Reserve University in Cleveland, Ohio. He specializes in mashup style remixes, in which he uses often a dozen or more unauthorized samples from different songs to create a new song; The New York Times Magazine has called his music "a lawsuit waiting to happen.", a criticism that Gillis has attributed to a mainstream media that wants "to create controversy where it doesn’t really exist," citing fair use as a legal backbone for his sampling practices.

He has given different explanations for the origin of his stage name, once saying that it alluded to a Jim Morrison poem and once saying that it alluded to an early Merzbow side project.

In school, Gillis focused on tissue engineering. He later worked as an engineer, but quit in May 2007 to focus solely on music

Best Girl Talk Songs of All Time

Tracks